Donate  |   News  |   Events  |   Downloads  |   Contact

THC Kekoo Naoroji Book Award

The Himalayan Club Kekoo Naoroji Book Award

Kekoo Naoroji was born in Karachi on 5 September 1915, to Jerbai and Nadirshaw Naoroji. He was one of the pillars of the Himalayan Club, and its President from 1986 to 1992 and was a man of the mountains with deep wellsprings of character and inner strength.

He joined The Himalayan Club in 1950, a relationship he was to enjoy immensely for the next fifty years. In 1952 Kekoo spent eleven weeks in central Garhwal, and his personal diary of this trip, as well as the account of his other major trip to the Himalaya in 1958 in Sikkim, formed the subject matter of a book, Himalayan Vignettes. This book was brought out by his son Rishad and assisted by friends in the Himalayan Club.

When the Himalayan Club moved its headquarters to Mumbai, Kekoo became its first Secretary in 1971; its Vice President from 1983 – 85, and for seven years thereafter was President of the Club. He took his responsibilities of helping to strengthen and consolidate Club activities seriously and his business experience enabled him bring a very pragmatic and sound sense to all the Committee dealings. He actually cared about each and everyone around him, and they sensed and appreciated that. He passed away quietly on 17th December 2003 after a long period of ill health.

In the year 2005, The Himalayan Club in association with Naoroji family and Godrej Industries set up a book award for the best literature on the Himalaya, published during the year. The book award instituted in his name would be for a book published in the prescribed period and relating to any aspects of the Himalaya. The books can cover mountains, mountaineering, people, culture, environment, politics and any other related topics.

Kekoo Naoroji Mountain Literature Award

Criteria and Procedure for Submission

The Himalayan Club in association with Naoroji family and Godrej has set up a Mountain Literature Award for the best book on the Himalaya. Kekoo Naoroji had a long association with The Himalayan Club and he served as President and Secretary in the past. The award instituted in his name will be for a book published between 1st January and 31st December in a year (12 months). The subjects can cover mountains, mountaineering, people, culture, environment, politics and related aspects.

The Himalayan Club appoints a special Jury to decide the winner. To enter a book for consideration, you will need to send three copies of the book latest by first week of February of the following year. The award consists of Indian Rs. 100,000/-. The winner will be announced in March of the next year.

Terms and Conditions:

  1. The award is for non-fiction based on the following parameters:
    1. Content: topics related to mountaineering, natural history, culture, environment, exploration and other aspects relating to the Himalaya including Karakoram, Hindu Kush and adjacent Tibet.
    2. Literary merit.
  2. Decision of the judges will be final and binding.
  3. Three free copies of the book must be sent to addresses that we will indicate.
  4. The books received for the competition will go to the Godrej Archives and The Himalayan Club Library.
  5. The Author will be invited to Mumbai to receive the Award.
  6. The competition is open only for the first English language published edition of a book.
  7. The same book cannot be re-entered for the competition even if it is within the timeline criteria.

Past Recipients


Extremes along the Silk Road

By Nick Middleton


An Eye at the Top of the World

By Pete Takeda

KN Award 2006-07

Frederick Wilson

By D C Kala

KN Award - 2007-08

Brotherhood of the Rope

By Bernadette McDonald

KN Award 2008-09

Tomaz Humar

By Bernadette McDonald

KN Award 2010-11

No way Down

By Graham Bowley

KN Award 2011-12

Freedom Climbers

By Bernadette McDonald

KN Award 2012-13

Shipton and Tilman

By Jim Perrin

KN Award 2013-14

My Father Frank

By Tony Smythe

KN Award 2014-15

Becoming a Mountain

By Stephen Alter

KN Award 2015-16

Up and About

By Doug Scott

KN Award 2016-17

Far Out

By Mark Liechty

KN Award 2017-18


By Steve Swenson

KN Award 2018-19

The Last Englishmen

By Deborah Baker

Wild Himalaya

By Stephen Alter

Siachen Expedition 1978

By Jaroslav Poncar

High Risk: Climbing to Extinction by Brian Hall, 2021-22

High Risk: Climbing to Extinction

By Brian Hall


Jury - Bill Aitken
Bill Aitken
Jury - Nandini Purandare
Nandini Purandare
Jury - Stephen Goodwin
Stephen Goodwin
Jury - Suman Dube
Suman Dube
Bernadette McDonald - Jury
Bernadette McDonald
Rivka Israel - Jury
Rivka Israel
Jury - Rukun Advani
Rukun Advani
Rama Goyal - Jury
Rama Goyal