Golden Jubilee of First Indian Ascent of Mt Everest 1965

First Indian Ascent of Mt Everest 1965
The inspirational first ascent of Mt Everest in 1953 by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay generated interest in mountaineering in India and led to the establishment of the Indian mountaineering Foundation (IMF) in 1958. Three expeditions to Mt Everest were launched under the aegis of IMF i.e. in 1960, 1962 and 1965. First Indian ascent of Mt Everest in 1965 was a thumping success in which 9 members summited setting a record by putting maximum number of members on top. The then Prime Minister headed the team’s reception at the airport.

2015 being the Golden Jubilee year of the first Indian ascent of Mt Everest, a series of events have been organized at different parts of the country to spread awareness of the Indian Himalayas as an adventure tourism destination. The opening functions are from 20th to 29th May 2015, at New Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata and Darjeeling. The Closing functions are planned during November 2015 coinciding with the AGM of IMF.

IMF also dedicates the Golden Jubilee of the first Indian ascent to Mt Everest as a year dedicated to rehabilitation activities towards the victims of earthquake in India and Nepal.

Capt. M.S. Kohli, IN, Padma Bhushan, AVSM (Leader), Mr. C.P. Vohra, Padma Shri Mr. Sonam Wangyal, Padmashri, Mr Gurcharan Bhangu, & Brig. Mulk Raj will be visiting Mumbai and sharing their experiences. Col. H.S. Chauhan, SM, VSM, President IMF, and Hon. Secretary Wg.Cdr. Sudhir Kutty will also accompany them.

Programme in Mumbai

22nd May 2015
Arrival of dignitaries at the Mumbai airport Terminal 1A (11:35 am by Indigo flight)
2 pm to 4 pm: Address the employees of BARC, Anushakti Nagar (Programme exclusively for BARC employees)

23rd May 2015
2:15 pm to 6 pm: Public function - Felicitation/ Film show/ Address by the dignitaries

Venue: Swatantravir Savarkar Rashtriya Smarak, (Adjacent to Mayor’s Bungalow)
252 Vir Savarkar Marg, Shivaji Park, Dadar West, Mumbai 400028

All are invited for the programme at Swatantravir Savarkar Rashtriya Smarak.