Jagdish Nanavati Awards

Jagdish C. Nanavati, President Emeritus of the Himalayan Club, was an eminent personality who meticulously analysed many expeditions. He made it his mission to make Indian expeditions plan, study, execute and report the venture expertly.

Two Awards have been instituted in his memory, which will be managed by the Himalayan Club and funded by the Nanavati family.

  1. Jagdish Nanavati Award for Excellence in Mountaineering: An annual award for a mountaineering expedition or exploration organised by an Indian team (led by an Indian National and where all the team members are Indians).
  2. Jagdish Nanavati Garud Medal: An annual award for any person who has excelled over the years in serving / working for expeditions, performed an exemplary act of help, support or rescue to a party in the mountains.

Till date, following expeditions and persons were honoured:

Year Excellence in Mountaineering Garud Gold Medal
2012 “Zemu Gap Expedition” led by Anindya Mukherjee Harsingh Mangalsingh Harkotia
2013 “Chaukhamba Col Expedition” led by Debabrata Mukherjee Pemba Norboo a.k.a. King Kong
2014 “Rassa Glacier Expedition” led by Divyesh Muni Ringzen Ladakhi
2015 “Karakoram Adventure, the first exploration of the Ryong Kharu Lungpa” led by Divyesh Muni Naveen Panwar
2016 --- No Team --- Skalzang Rigzin
2017 “Karakoram Traverse Expedition” led by Divyesh Muni Pasang Phadur Sherpa
2018 --- No Team --- Samgyal Sherpa

For criteria and submission process, click here.